Temari ball – my first 92

January 16, 2012

33cm circumference, 20/2 tencel weaving yarn

Moving from 32 to 92 faces

I thought I’d push my division line skills a bit by going beyond what I’m used to: 32 faces. The instructions on page 92 of Temari for Four Seasons vol.1 indicate that one divides up the pentagons into thirds and lays down five every-increasing pentagons around each of the twelve centres of a C10 division. The ‘magic number’ for a 33cm circumference ball is 5.8, which isn’t the easiest to divide evenly by six; measuring would have been simpler and more accurate if I’d gone for a 34cm circumference ball, with a ‘magic number’ of 6cm!

I wasn’t intending to stitch the ball – I simply wanted to see if I could lay down the division lines and come up with something visual coherent. No love lost if I got lost and had to rip out the divisions lines. I’ve become used to laying down 20/2 tencel, a shiny weaving yarn, as a substitute metallic thread and in this case it held its position reasonably well and I only needed to tack after laying down the initial C10 division lines. I’m not sure that additional tacking would serve any useful purpose or not as opposed to nudging as you add a stitching thread. More tacking would be required on a larger ball.

Experimenting with stitching

I’ve started to outline some of the hexagons around the central pentagon of one of the C10 pentagons using 20/2 tencel weaving yarn in other colours. The obvious contenders of stitching are either going around the outside of shapes or kiku within shapes or some continuous line stitching; Temari for Four Seasons vol.1 shows the latter on a 48cm circumference mari in two stitch colours (pp.92-93). Interlocking shapes on such a small ball as here tended to loosen the division lines. I might experiment with different thread types to see what’s possible. This might simply remain a sample 92-face ball, with different stitching patterns and different threads around the ball.

In the meantime, I can now more confidently go and look around and see how others have tackled 92 faces, especially concerning what metallic threads are suitable (obviously thin and crisp are appropriate) and what stitching thread types are suitable. Even a different, finer needle might be required.

One Response to “Temari ball – my first 92”


Leave a Reply

