Temari ball – Continuous Motif in pentagons (2)

January 7, 2012

 

31cm circumference, pearl cotton 5

Following on from yesterday’s temari, today’s has developed out of some doodles, as follows:

 

Here’s the first row completed, which is quite close to yesterday’s original #100702 by Debi, but with a tiny difference of my own significant enough for me to pursue stitching. Today I will stitch three rows, as yesterday, but  stitch the rows closer to the division lines than yesterday’s. As a result, I am less concerned about the proportion of mari background showing through. At this stage, I’m not sure what other colours or surface design components I can add, but I’m looking for an additional pentagon or triangle.

In terms of colour, I started with a light violet mari and a light blue 2/20 tencel weaving thread as jiwari, with a mid-red/orange thread as a complementary.

Once the three rows of orange were in place, I was able to pick out pentagons to stitch round.

I ended going overboard with yellow, violet, green and dark brown-green to finish. The colours had some logic to them: they are form a split complementary: violet and yellow (reinforced at the flower’s centre) with colours on either side of yellow on the spectrum (green, yellow-green and yellow-orabnge).

I am rushing these photos into print somewhat; what should happen between finishing and photographing is extensive grooming of all threads, ideally with a tekobari but otherwise with the eye-end of a needle.

2 Responses to “Temari ball – Continuous Motif in pentagons (2)”

    • rodbyatt Says:

      Very impressed with the subtlety and elegance of your double-threaded one of 6 Nov last! Takahara’s explanations on p.26 of her book have finally convinced me I might just be able to get my head around some asanoha, something I’ve wanted to have a go at for ages. Your blog is great reading!


Leave a Reply

