Temari ball – “red cherry”

September 13, 2011

27cm circumference, perle cotton 5

A simple 10 structure exploiting negative space to give the illusion of a red cherry blossom at either pole. The surface design and colour scheme originates in Ozaki’s Temari for 12 Months, volume 2.

Ozaki calls for a 30cm circumference ball, so I thought it would be okay to scale things down to fit a 28cm circumference ball. Thus her measurements like 4cm from the equator for the second group of kiku stitches and 1.5cm down from the two poles for the first were changed. In so doing (and Ozaki provided measurements in centimetres, not fractional measurements such as 1/2 or 1/3), the petals on my cherry blossoms changed their shape considerably.

2 Responses to “Temari ball – “red cherry””


  1. This pattern was the first JD I ever attempted. I have made so many variations of it now, I love the colour scheme of this one.

    • rodbyatt Says:

      I like these smart colours. I need to keep working at getting nice thick, wide points – but have worked out a method now and am on my way!


Leave a Reply

