International Temari Appreciation Day 2011, Sydney Australia – 84 days to go!

July 28, 2011

Like others round the world at the moment, I’m wondering what I can do about celebrating International Temari Appreciation Day this year – Saturday 22 October. Honouring the tradition, saying thank-you to fellow makers, pushing temari into the public domain – http://international-temari-appreciation.blogspot.com

I got caught up last year in last-minute university essay writing, but am hoping if I’m well enough prepared this time, I can contribute in the digital world if not in the real world.  Ideas can be grouped into the following categories:

1. Public Displays: in local libraries, needlework shops, community centres, retirement villages.

2. Semi-Private Displays: on the front fence, in the front yard, in the trees.

3. Demonstrations of temari-making (see above).

4. Donations of books, temari balls.

5. Celebratory ball/design leading to group participation, raffle, etc.

6. Get-togethers of local temari makers.

7. Create little publicity campaigns alerting organisations to temari and ITAD. Self-written pieces for local newspapers. Complimentary balls sent to large organisations (Japan Foundation, Kinokinuya, etc.) with a mention of the ITAD website.

So far in my neck of the woods…

* My local library… Marrickville Library is undergoing renovations and generally features big-time curated exhibitions. I wonder if they have anything on a smaller, more temporary scale. Should check out my little local branch library and other potential venues on my local government Council’s website.

* My local embroidery Guild has carefully curated exhibitions of work each month and I’ve exhibited there before. Seems not to have raised a flicker of interest and I’m reluctant to impose. As one of just two males in a membership of several thousand, I stitched some at an annual Open Day a few years back. Can’t tell if it was the temari that raised eyebrows or a male stitching them.

* Neither my local Spinners & Weavers Guild nor my local embroidery Guild has any temari books in their libraries, which may or may not be an expression of the lack of any potential interested in the art form…

* Alert Sydney Kinokinuya – the bookshop has a small art space but the work is more edgey and less traditional. Their big craft Saturday is held every February.

* Alert the Japan Foundation (Sydney) – okay, they only ever deal in craftwork of Japanese nationals brought out from Japan, some of whom are designated National Living Treasures. But I can at least alert them to the existence of ITAD for their O-musubi member newsletter. Should send them a small comp ball as a publicity gimmick…

* If I knew other makers who lived locally, I’d organise a flashmob event on the day, with accompanying photos. Perhaps a competition of a temari photographed in an unusual environment. Spend the day at the nearest Japanese Gardens at Campbelltown. The previous manager has turned this arts complex into the most visited in the State. I could take along temari balls stiched during this year and create a sponteanous installation at one of the cafe tables overlooking the garden – a photo of temari with a garden backdrop. I should check out the Gardens cultural display to see if (like the Gosford gardens) they have any temari on display. With a view to copying/creating a version of it for raffling?

* Speaking of flashmob spontaneous installations, I’m thinking I could go for a photo of temari set against the Opera House, shot from Lavender Bay – that would certainly tie in with the international character of the Day. There are strict rules about paying for photographs involving iconic buildings and beaches here, so need to be careful. Security guards would pounce if I tried for a flashmob installation of temari balls while actually on the Sydney Harbour Bridge. 

 

* In terms of installations closer to home, I could get the neighbours talking by lay out fifty or so them along the top of my brick front balcony. Local needlework shops are almost a species extinct. One of the few remaining is Morris & Sons in York Street, Sydney. Should join their free Stitch & Bitch class on Thursday nights and drum up some interest in the coming months….

* I like temarimath‘s idea of an extra special, limited edition temari design to showcase for the week with instructions and then have a raffle to give away the original ball. With my limited ability, it would have to be an extra-special Beginner’s temari. Must check out the State’s gaming rules for running raffles…

* Australia’s biggest temari ball. This is an idea I saw executed in Japan – a giant temari ball, manipulated by a whole gang of people. Reminds me of the current advertisement used by Australia Post for a product called zing. Every time I see  a picture of this bloke holding a fuzzy mari, I think temari. 60cm circumference or so. You reckon he’s going to post it to someone to stitch?

* speed up my own little vanity publishing thing, with a 40-page photobook via www.blurb.com of temari I’ve made. to coincide with the Day.

* working with a local Botanic Gardens, since temari are often so closely related to flowers. Some Gardens require temporary freezing of exhibition items to kill off bugs when shown in areas as sensitive as herbaria. As with all exhibitions, there are issues of insurance, public liability, publicity scheduling, potential money-making opportunities for the venue, etc. to iron out.

With all these ideas jumping around, perhaps I should focus on just one.

3 Responses to “International Temari Appreciation Day 2011, Sydney Australia – 84 days to go!”

  1. Gloria Says:

    I went to Blurb and I am asking direction s to your book, please.

    • rodbyatt Says:

      Come stai? I am still planning it, upgrading my photos from low resolution to high resolution, wondering about text and how much to write… When something happens, I’ll let you know!
      Ciao, Rod


  2. Hi Rod,

    You’ve certainly got a plethora of ideas for ITAD.

    I also think of temari when I see the ‘zing’ ad. I wonder if they would be willing to give yup those props so we could stitch on them?!


Leave a Reply

