Temari ball – interlocking geometric bands

July 23, 2011

Scouting around the web today: www.vettycreations.com.au (Yvette Stanton); my local NSW Embroidery Guild and the group devoting itself to exploring colour; “Embelish” magazine. Thinking about Japanese Temari Certification again – big things are built on dreams! I think the sun is coming out today for the first time in ten days or so. 

C8, 26cm circumf, jiwari of ‘single’ DMC metallic gold, pale blue and mid-blue perle cotton #5

Often I come across a photo of a nice temari and think “That would be nice to make!” then three or four days later I come across the pattern of the same ball in a Japanese temari book. I saw a photo of this ball recently in bands of dark green (my photo is a bit off, you need to tilt your head 45 degrees to the right) and lo and behold, there it is in Fun with temari (colour photo p.29, pattern p.42).

I momentarily ran out of bright yellow thread for the mari so settled for the pale lemon yellow instead. I wanted my bands in dark blue with perhaps some black and white added, but settled on two shades of blue instead, mainly because the bands can’t in fact be all that wide on this size mari. For a 26cm ball, only six stitched rounds of thread are possible in each band, which you can see in my photo where the three lots of bands intersect. The pattern doesn’t specify a size of ball, so I was lucky in sticking to the colour illustration in the book. I played down the dominance of the jiwari in the example which were very dark and strong. Some additional marking threads to fill up the negative space (but in a subdued way) wouldn’t go astray either – just to add to the layer-upon-layer visual texture. Something for next time.

Now in hindsight I notice the book talks about doing the big squares first, then the triangles. After time spent ripping out mistakes, I opted to complete all the triangles to finality first, then all the squares later. This helped overcome problems with deducing the unders-and-overs of the interlocked bands. Of course my wayward method wouldn’t apply if the bands were interwoven. Without thinking, I started to do interlocked (nejiri) bands and not interwoven bands as a hangover from a ball done a few days ago.

What I liked was the novel approach to colourwork in the band: light then dark, then two light then two dark.

Leave a Reply

